The Path to Freedom

Greetings and welcome! My name is Tracy and I created this blog to share with my friends and family the amazing journey I have been on since 2005 when I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. Over the past 7 years I have learned more about life and more about self than in all the preceding years combined. But most of all I’ve learned more about God and what is truly worth living for in this life.

It’s been one year since I stood on the dock of Camp Lawroweld looking out at the early morning fog rolling across the waters. I was reflecting on all the plans I had for the coming year, plans that involved me moving oversea to study holistic medicine. Modern medicine wasn’t helping me and I wanted more than a treatment for my symptoms. Plus I wanted to leave the corporate world behind and live a life of purpose where the work I do each day brought some comfort and relief to others struggling in this life. I longed to feel needed, loved, and to find a place where I belong. I had grand dreams for the future and as I stood on that dock waiting for the sun to rise I felt God asking to be a part of those plans. I was not willing. I said no, I want to do it my way and God said to me that day, the life I have for you is far beyond anything you can ever imagine. I walked away. I didn’t see the sun rise that morning but God did not walk away from his pursuit of me.

Today one year later I am packing to go back to Camp Lawroweld. I have been there many times since but this weekend is very special to me. This “family camp weekend” marks the pivotal moment in my life when I began to wrestle with God. So many times before I had dismissed Him saying God doesn’t have anything I want or need, but I never took the time to get to know Him and I have discovered He has everything I need. Through this blog I want to share with you the steps I took to reach the place where I am today. I’m walking in a whole new life. I have a joy that I have never had before. Those “life is good” t-shirts used to really annoy me. “Life is one big disappointment” was how my t-shirt read. Fear, anxiety, and depression were my constant companions but God has taught me a new way to walk. He’s given me beauty for ashes. I give Him all my issues and He gives me joy to see the sunrise and peace to bask in its warmth. This is freedom and I’ve found my purpose. I want to share this with anyone who is suffering in this world, who can never find satisfaction no matter what they do, what they buy, where they live, or who they work for. God has healed my body, mind, and spirit and I want to teach others everything He’s taught me. I hope to encourage all and to be a blessing to someone today!  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Path to Freedom

  1. Amanda says:

    This is Amazing Tracy! I’m so happy for you!

  2. Sharon Dunn (Nunnelley) says:

    Your “story” is amazing and inspirational..you have grown into a wonderful young woman! May you continue a life of Gods blessings of health and happiness!!

  3. Rebecca O'Connor says:

    This is beautiful Tracy- I am eager to keep reading on..;) Praise the Lord your sharing your story on this blog, I can relate to a lot of your struggles like wanting to write be in control of your own destiny, but then realizing *WOW*…God has even BIGGER, more beautiful, profound dreams for me than I could imagine….:) Nick and I miss you guys…I hope to see you soon….With God as Guide and Friend, all things are possible, and in His presence is fullness of joy 🙂 God bless you!

    • Thank you Rebecca. You are so right. God has BIG dreams for you! I can’t wait to see them come into fulfillment. I am so excited at the possibilities for you and Nick. Look out New England! We miss you guys too. It’s always such a blessing and an encouragment to be around you guys. God’s love just radiates off you two. He’s truly blessed us with your friendship.

  4. Rhonda Lagasse says:

    I am so proud of you. Some times we give up on God when things don’t make sense. Our God is so loving and patient He waits for us to realize we need Him. God never walks away from us and He does not give up. His love is so strong. I know God has big plans for you and Damon. I love you both…MOM

  5. Pingback: Deliverance | A New Way To Walk

Leave a Reply

